South Coast Horror Show

Sunday 27th December 2015

Sometimes you need to put your hands up and say you were beaten by the better side on the day. We were. And then some.

In 1970-71 Stoke did the same. And we all know what happened then. I’m clinging on to that. Please forgive me.

I did what the majority of us do at Christmas. I spent it with family. I ate too much. And I got pissed. And feck me my sister knows how to party.

Southampton away is my local game these days. And I think I’m not the only one that went into the game with confidence.

March 1989 we went to The Dell. And after the ‘Winter wobbles’ described in the video, we all felt that we might of blown it. But Perry, Rocky and Merse scored fine goals and we were back in it.

If nothing else it proved how that ‘feel good factor’ can be back where we want it to be very quickly.

Programme & Match Ticket on the 1989 day where we won 3-1 at The Dell

Programme & Match Ticket on the 1989 day where we won 3-1 at The Dell

The League table dictates we are still well and truly in this season’s race. But 1 point from West Brom, Norwich and Southampton away in recent weeks is not title winning form.

We can beat anyone on our day. But results in games like those prove we are very beatable too. Not great that.

But we have 2 home games now where 6 points out of 6 will paint a different Christmas picture.

A short blog today as I’m not sure there is much else I can say.

In a mighty weird and unpredictable League we need to keep going and do everything possible to win our next game. And Eddie Howe’s men will be confident they can prevent us from doing just that.

But in home games, against anyone, it is about what we do.

And tomorrow is no different.

Chins up boys and girls.

Frank
@stubbsy70

Leave a Reply

